Eventually getting round to doing this

Image

Well after weeks and months and quite honestly years of procrastinating I’ve finally decided to take the plunge and start a blog. It has been on my personal agenda for so long now it is surprising I’ve not completely done away with the idea. However here I am and I suppose I had better write something interesting to kick things off.

I’m an average twenty-something north easterner living in Bournemouth. I moved here almost two years ago with my partner, who after completing university found herself a job as a teacher. I posted a CV on a few websites and within two weeks I’d sort of bungled my way into an outbound sales job for an insurance company. The goal was to get a job to pay the bills until we had moved down and settled in, then of course start looking for a proper career. So naturally as I’m sure you will all have already guessed I’m still working in insurance…at the same company. However, I have moved away from the outbound department and I do seem to be progressing through the company, so it’s not all bad. I’m pretty sure my job will become the subject of endless rants in this blog but now is not the time.

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about what I would write if I had a blog. The vast array of topics I would cover. Expressing my interests in history, society, the state of the country and current affairs around the world. I will endeavour to do this on a regular basis however the likelihood is that the majority of my posts will no doubt be a sprawling diatribe of what has vexed me at work or in my life that particular week. Although I will be conscious that this is a blog and not a therapy session for me to vent my frustrations. I know I am quite an opinionated person and I very much enjoy a good debate. However when reading this and future posts please be aware that I am fully aware that not everyone shares my opinion. I know that on occasion I can be wrong, and as much as I would like to be infallible (and have my girlfriend believe the same,) it is simply not the case.

I’m trying to keep this short, sweet and to the point and already, reading back I can see that I am doing a pretty awful job. When I was at university studying history I remember being advised that when writing essays, it is always a good idea to finish with the introduction.

“The introduction should always give the reader an idea of where your argument will be heading and what you intend to prove in your conclusion. So naturally it is easier to write this once you have set out your argument and finished your conclusion”.

It makes sense, right? Well reading back through this blog I see at the very beginning I wrote,

“…here I am and I suppose I had better write something interesting to kick things off.

Hmmm yes, it is nice to see that my university education was money well spent….

Leave a Reply

